#2k6 | Alonso turns 25 Today

As I have just found out from Renault F1’s ‘Blog, so for once I won’t begrudge him a victory over the Williams’s and Jenson – like either were ever gonna beat him anyway! At least Mr. Alonso is now an Oxford boy!

It’s Hockenheim this weekend, and possibly for the last time unless a deal to alternate the German GP with the Nurburgring can be reached. For me I loved the old track, the fact it was purely about going as fast as you could – it was as close as modern F1 were going to get to an Oval track – and I was gutted when they let Tilke bastardise the track in the way he did, but to be fair, we’ve had some good races there since then, and I think it would be a shame to lose it from the F1 calendar. However, we have to lose some races for the newer ones that are coming through, and I think it’s a bit unfair that Germany and Italy (and possibly Japan next year) get two races a year. But then I’m not part of the FIA, and we all know what I think of them by now!

Originally posted 29/07/06

Leave a comment